banner graphic Home button

Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching Annual Meeting focuses on alignment, balance, and connection

Structured around the theme of “Alignment, Balance, and Connection,” this year’s Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching (TRC) Annual Meeting held June 27-29, celebrated the power of the ongoing research-based professional development the Collaboratives offer science and mathematics teachers around the state.

pdficonDownload the Thirteenth Annual Meeting Highlights. brochure. This PDF covers the highlights of the conference, including our special guests, awards, and the agenda.

Visit the 13th Annual Meeting Photo Gallery to review images from the conference.

vidoe pageWatch video segments captured at the Conference


Showcase, Reception, and Dinner

glassesHighlighting the three-day Annual Meeting was a showcase, reception, and dinner at which The Honorable Kirk Watson, Texas State Senator, The Honorable Geanie W. Morrison, Texas State House Representative and Chair of the Higher Education Committee, Marilyn C. Kameen, UT College of Education Senior Associate Dean, and Gina Day, Director of Student Support Initiatives at the Texas Education Agency spoke to over 425 Collaborative participants and business partners, during which the TRC 2007 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Day.






2007 Distinguished Teaching Awards

award winnersOur corporate, foundation and education partners are all generous supporters of the Collaboratives and sponsors of the TRCís Distinguished Teaching and Mentoring Awards. See the right-hand column for a listing of awards and recipients.





Professional Development Sessions

sessionThe Annual Meeting showcases outstanding science instruction techniques and lessons, features workshops, offers professional development credits, and honors exceptional science teachers, as well as the business, government, community and higher education partners who make the Collaboratives a success. Over 50 sessions were available to choose from, representing all science disciplines and grade levels. Download the agenda to see more detail.





Showcase of Exhibits

exhibitPreceding the dinner, guests had an opportunity to view a showcase of science exhibits designed by representatives from the 35 regional science collaboratives. Collaboratives shared with each other innovative professional development programs and effective practices.









Annual Meeting Image & Video Gallery

slideshowVisit the Annual Meeting Image Gallery to review a slideshow of images captured during the entire event.







View inspirational video clips from teachers and educators.



Annual Meeting Resources

UT College of Education News
Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching Conference Focuses on Alignment, Balance and Connection

TRC Overview for T-STEM Summit
Presented by Carol Fletcher, Assistant Director/R&D Coordinator
Texas Regional Collaboratives

TEA Update
Presented by Chris Comer - Director of Science - TEA

Annual Meeting Agenda (PDF)

Image Gallery from the Annual Meeting

2007 Distinguished Teaching and Mentoring Awards Recipients

AT&T Foundation Distinguished Teaching Award

Pam Enderby
Elementary School Science Teacher
North Central Texas College Regional Collaborative/Gainesville

AT&T Foundation
Distinguished Mentoring Award

Brian Grunkowski
Elementary School Science Teacher
Frisco ISD
UT Dallas Regional Collaborative/Dallas


El Paso Logo
El Paso Corporation
Distinguished Teaching Award

Marcia Neimeyer
High School Chemistry Teacher
Midland Christian School
Region 18 Collaborative/Midland


El Paso Corporation
Distinguished Mentoring Award

Sally Wall
Middle School Science Teacher
Clear Creek ISD
UH-Clear Lake/EIH Regional Collaborative/Houston


UT Center for Science and
Mathematics Education

Distinguished Teaching Award

Sheri Carson
Middle School Science Teacher
Pittsburg ISD
TAMU-Texarkana Regional Collaborative/Texarkana


Shell Logo

Shell Oil Company
Distinguished Teaching Award

Craig Weart
High School IPC Teacher
Weslaco ISD
Region 1 Collaborative/Edinburg


Shell Oil Company
Distinguished Mentoring Award

Genny DeVoe
Elementary School Science Teacher
Amarillo ISD
Region 16 Collaborative/Amarillo

Renee East
Elementary School Science Teacher
Amarillo ISD
Region 16 Collaborative/Amarillo


The Cynthia and George
Mitchell Foundation
Distinguished Teaching Award

Eduardo Guevara, Ph.D.
High School IPC and Biology Teacher
Houston ISD
Galveston County Regional Collaborative/Galveston


Toyota Logo

Toyota USA Foundation
Distinguished Teaching Award

Tracie Wetzel
Elementary School Science Teacher
Fairfield ISD
Region 12 Collaborative/Waco


Toyota USA Foundation
Distinguished Mentoring Award

Olga Garcia
Elementary School Science Teacher
EdgeWood ISD
Our Lady of the Lake University
Regional Collaborative/San Antonio