# Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching



#### HONORING THE TEACHERS

## UH-Clear Lake/EIH Regional Science Collaborative

Houston, Texas

September 9, 2008



Event support was provided by

Shell Oil Company,

a Regional Collaborative Statewide Corporate Partner

#### HONORING THE TEACHERS EVENT

#### **PROGRAM**

#### INTRODUCTION

Dr. Brenda Weiser

Project Director
EIH/UHCL Regional Collaborative

#### **WELCOME**

#### **Dr. Dennis Spuck**

*Dean*, School of Education University of Houston – Clear Lake

#### TEXAS REGIONAL COLLABORATIVES STATEWIDE ACTIVITIES

Dr. Kamil A. Jbeily

Executive Director, Texas Regional Collaboratives
The University of Texas at Austin

#### **GREETINGS AND REMARKS**

**Dr. Frazier Wilson** 

Social Investment Manager Shell Oil Company

#### Dr. Carl A. Stockton

Provost

University of Houston - Clear Lake

#### **Dr. William Staples**

President

University of Houston - Clear Lake

#### KEYNOTE SPEAKER

The Honorable Dr. Alma Allen

Texas House of Representatives - District 131

#### RECOGNITION CEREMONY

Presentation of Certificates of Achievement as evidence of dedication to life-long learning and commitment to the teaching profession.

#### **SPEAKERS**



**Dr. Carl A. Stockton** *Provost*University of Houston - Clear Lake



**Dr. Frazier Wilson**Social Investment Manager
Shell Oil Company



**Dr. Brenda Weiser**Project Director
EIH/UHCL Regional Collaborative



**Dr. William Staples** *President*University of Houston - Clear Lake



**The Honorable Dr. Alma Allen** Texas House of Representatives, District 131



**Dr. Kamil A. Jbeily** *Executive Director*, TRC
The University of Texas at Austin



Dr. Frazier Wilson; Dr. Carol Fletcher, Asssistant Director/R&D Coordinator, TRC; Sadech Davari, Interim Dean of Science, Computers and Engineering, UHCL; Monte King, Manager, Workforce Development Initiative, Shell Oil Company

#### **TEACHERS HONORED**













Outstanding Teacher of the Year Cheryl Hays Wegscheid, Spring Branch ISD

Patricia Omatsone-Abiro, Houston ISD Wende M. Bach, Clear Creek ISD Chani Barton, Pearland ISD Cristina Casaburri, Clear Creek ISD Antrina Cooper, Houston ISD Novella Cooper, Houston ISD Andre D. Dean, Pasadena ISD Rochelle 'Rene' DeLaFuente, Clear Creek ISD Pedro Fernandez, Pasadena ISD Doris J. Fike, Pearland ISD Barbara Lynn Ketcham, Pasadena ISD Joe T. Miller, Clear Creek ISD Nilofer Momin, Al-Hadi School, Private Jill Dunson Moore, Clear Creek ISD Judith L. Morgan. Texas City ISD Diana Murray, Pasadena ISD **Ibiteyin N. Myers,** Houston ISD Tammy Oldani, Clear Creek ISD Amy K. Phillips, Clear Creek ISD Melody Pruitt, Clear Creek ISD Angela B. Ruggeri, Pasadena ISD Audrey L. Soto, Clear Creek ISD Sandra St. Clair, Houston ISD Cheryl Hays Wegscheid, Spring Branch ISD Tracy Ward Whatley, Pasadena ISD Sandra S. Wigginton, Houston ISD



#### **TEACHERS HONORED**





















#### **TEACHERS HONORED**













Congratulations!





### Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

Center for Science and Mathematics Education, College of Education
The University of Texas at Austin

Physical Address: 1912 Speedway / Sánchez Building, Suite 340

Mailing Address: 1 University Station D5500

Austin, Texas 78712-0377

Tel: 512-471-9460 Fax: 512-471-9244

www.thetrc.org