Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

State and Federal Partners

Texas Education Agency
U.S. Department of Education
National Science Foundation
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Statewide Corporate and Foundation Partners

Shell
AT&T Foundation
Toyota USA Foundation
El Paso Corporation
The Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

Project Contributors

Office of the President, University of North Texas

Life-long learning:
"A person who doesn't continue to learn is no better off
than a person who cannot learn.
Ignorance is never better than knowledge."
Richard Feynman



"You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him to find it within himself." Galileo Galilei, 1564-1642

"Effective professional development respects and nurtures the capacity of teachers; is planned collaboratively with teachers; develops content and pedagogy; enhances leadership; is long-term, sustained, and of high intensity; and is evaluated on the basis of its impact on teachers and students."

Excerpts from Principles for Professional Development, U.S. Department of Education

Honoring the Teachers

Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

University of North Texas Regional Science Collaborative



Fremaux's Metropolitan Catering
532 West University Drive
Denton, TX 76201

Thursday, February 18, 2010 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

PROGRAM

WELCOME

Dr. James Roberts

Project Director
University of North Texas Regional Science Collaborative

GREETINGS

Dr. James P. Barufaldi

Principal Investigator
Texas Regional Collaboratives
The University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Wendy Wilkins

Provost
University of North Texas

Ms. Marty Thompson

Dean

Advanced Technology Complex, Denton

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Dr. Kamil A. Jbeily

Executive Director
Texas Regional Collaboratives
The University of Texas at Austin

RECOGNITION CEREMONY

Presentation of Certificates of Achievement as evidence of dedication to life-long learning and commitment to the teaching profession.

Dr. Jim Roberts and Dr. Betty Crocker (Representing Senator Shapiro)

Comments by teachers in the program:

Danny Holcomb, Brian Long, and Rocky Schenck



Event support provided by

AT&T Foundation,

A Regional Collaborative Statewide Corporate Partner

TEACHERS HONORED

Dagoberto Bahamon, Dallas ISD, L. O. Donald Elementary

Lidia Bissell, Dallas ISD, Tom W. Field Elementary

Athena Bivens, Dallas ISD, Schulz Elementary

Helena Cantrell, Treetop Schools International

Dawn Chegwidden, Lewisville ISD, Lewisville High School

Scott Christensen, Pilot Point ISD, Pilot Point High School

Teha Cooks, Prosper ISD, Lorene Rogers Middle School

Cindy DeSpain, Keller ISD, Trinity Springs Middle School

Evalena Dorsey, Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD

Deirdre Dykes, Northwest ISD, Northwest High School

John Gordy, Pilot Point ISD, Pilot Point High School

Debra Hardy, Krum ISD, Krum High School

Charlotte Haun, Ft. Worth ISD, Wedgewood Middle School

Guadalupe Hernandez, Mesquite ISD, J. H. Flowers Campus

Maria Hernandez, Denton ISD, Hodge Elementary

Danny Holcomb, Denton ISD, Navo Middle School

Kathy Hootman, Sanger ISD, 6th Grade Center

Linda Johnson, Alvord ISD, Alvord Middle School

Lisa Klein, Northwest ISD, Northwest High School

Trisha Lana, Denton ISD, Sparks Campus

Tina Littlejohn, Frisco ISD, Student Teacher

Brian Long, Lewisville ISD, Durham Middle School

Maria Martinez, Dallas ISD, Lida Hooe Elementary

Chandra Maxey, Irving ISD, Union Bower Center

Kathy Merriott, Dallas ISD, Lida Hooe Elementary

Lillie Montgomery, Dallas ISD, Boude Storey Middle School

Laura Najera, Ft. Worth ISD, Seminary Hills Park

Martin Osae, Dallas ISD, Titche, Blanton and Pleasant Grove Elementary

Celia Palmer, Dallas ISD, Bryant Elementary

Henry Peňa, Lancaster ISD, Houston Elementary

Nic Radey, Doctoral Candidate, UNT College of Education

Suzanne Puckett, Ft. Worth ISD W. J. Turner Elementary

Tina Roberson, Dallas ISD, Tom Field Elementary

Elaine Rose, Faith Academy of Oak Cliff

Elizabeth Rutherford, Dallas ISD, A. W. Blanton Elementary

Carmen Sanchez, Ft. Worth ISD, Seminary Hills Park Elementary

Larry (Rocky) Schenck, Denton ISD, Advanced Technology Center

Janet Shull, Ft. Worth ISD, W. J. Turner Elementary

Jean Stevens, Kennedale ISD, James Arthur Intermediate School **J'Nice Weiss**, Hurst-Euless–Bedford ISD, Bellaire

Debbie Yarger, Ft. Worth ISD, Burton Hill Elementary